Everything Will Be All Right In The End: Apocalypse Songs

Everything Will Be All Right In The End: Apocalypse Songs

Published by: Cemetery Gates Media

Published on: Tuesday, September 6, 2022

Where to purchase: Here

These stories come from post-Bones Are Made To Be Broken writings, with not a single story emerging from that time period or prior.  The orphans that are without homes, at this point, will more than likely stay that way.  The writing is different now, my interests are different.  My fears and worries those of who I was from 2017 to 2022.  To insert pieces from 2010 through 2016 would seem bizarre and off to me.  Maybe that means I’m growing.

Table of Contents:

  1. Introduction – “What Is a Heart But a Thing To Be Emptied?” by Kristi DeMeester
  2. Foreword – “Stuck In the Middle without You”
  3. “The One Thing I Wished for You”
  4. “Guardian”
  5. “Every Apocalypse Is Personal”
  6. “This Sour Ground, This Panicked Heart” *
  7. “A Questionable Act of Compassion” *
  8. “Requiem Is A Vocab Term” *
  9. “Until Every Little Piece of Me Is Gone”
  10. “Feeling Like a Big Kid at the Beginning of the End”
  11. “How I Became a Cryptid Straight Out of a 1970s Horror Movie”
  12. “The Man at Dealey Plaza”
  13. “Hollowness”
  14. “And, in the End, a Reckoning of What I Have Become”
  15. “Wants & Needs”
  16. “Well, You Asked for a Miracle”
  17. I Can Give You Life
  18. “Everything Feels Wrong without You”
  19. “Detritus (Ten Pieces)”
  20. Story Notes
  21. Acknowledgements

* These pieces are original to this collection.

Advanced Praise:

“Dark, disturbing, and emotional, Paul Michael anderson’s stories will creep under your skin and linger there.  Everything Will Be All Right in the End is a strong collection you won’t soon forget.”  – Damien Angelica Walters, author of Cry Your Way Home and The Dead Girls Club

“Every Paul Michael Anderson story feels like an all-time classic that’s been around for half a century.  These stories are confident, heartbreaking, and full of original, exciting ideas.  Nobody has a finger closer to the pulse of human emotion than Paul Michael Anderson.” – Max Booth III, author of We Need To Do Something

“In Everything Will Be All Right in the End: Apocalypse Songs, author Paul Michael Anderson delivers devastating blow after devastating blow until his readers are tattered remains, nearly impossible to be put back together.  With each passing story, I felt myself sinking further and further into an invisible grave with Anderson as my undertaker.  Haunting and deeply unsettling, this collection is not to be missed.” – Eric LaRocca, author of Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke.

“Paul Michael Anderson’s Everything Will Be All Right in the End: Apocalypse Songs is a collection of sweeping horror short stories that tackle family, friendships, and existence.  Agony exists along the edges of these pages, and slowly crawls to the center, culminating with the dread of creatures, ghosts, aliens, reanimation, decay, our fellow human and more.  Anderson’s voice is urgent as it either plucks us from the darkness or leaves us to rot there.”  – Cynthia Pelayo, Bram Stoker Award nominated author of Children of Chicago

Everything Will Be All Right in the End: Apocalypse Songs is a breathtaking accomplishment.  An incredible collection of visceral, unforgettable stories, Paul Michael Anderson’s brand of horror is as heart-stopping as it is heart-wrenching.  This one’s sure to be among the very best collections of 2022.” – Gwendolyn Kiste, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of The Rust Maidens and Reluctant Immortals

“With Everything Will Be All Right in the End: Apocalypse Songs, Paul Michael anderson proves–yet again–that he is the undisputed master of aftermath.  Where most authors end their stories, he begins.  Just magic.  He finds hope in apocalypse ash.  A stunning collection, overflowing with reckonings, grief, regret, and scares.  His songs are ours, and even when frightening us, Anderson makes us feel less alone.” – Aaron Dries, author of Cut to Care and Dirty Heads

“What I love about this collection is that every dark, original, and unsettling story ends with a satisfying resolution.  Sometimes the horror wins, but more often than not, there was a light at the end of the tunnel–and it wasn’t a train bearing down, but a flashlight showing the way out.  And that’s what I need right now, more hope amidst the horror.” – Richard Thomas, author of Spontaneous Human Combustion